Latest News

RLSCC Awards Annual Review

Tue 6th June

Congratulations to all those who won an award at the annual RLSCC Awards – held every year to recognise the efforts of our members.

St Patrick’s Club was filled with cyclists for a fun night of mostly drinking and eating, with a few coveted awards thrown in for good measure.

The 2016 winners are:


Competitive Awards

Youth 10 mile TT – Sam Harding (20:38)

Sam consistently proved to be fast enough to be a contender at all levels in the Time Trial Championships. He only narrowly missed out on the senior title so thoroughly deserves the Junior Title.

Senior 10 mile TT – Jason Hales (20:15)

Jason set the fastest time in 2016 with a time that took 18 seconds off the club record. We're looking to see if Jason can go sub 20 minutes in 2017.

Male TT Champion – Jason Hales (200 points)

Jason’s consistency and speed bought him the championship where hejust edged Sam Harding to the title. A closely fought championship battle came down to Jason managing to win enough of the head to heads against Sam.

Female TT Champion – Verity Atkins (198 points)

this season. When the conditions proved challenging Verity would be out racing, head down against the wind & rain. A worthy, and at times soggy, winner.

Veterans TT Champion – Mark Wise (1487 points)

Mark proved to be untouchable in the Vets this year. He set an early pace that no one else could get near. His form in Open TTs has matchedhis performance on the club championship. A creditable performance all round.


Non-competitive awards

CX Rider of the Year – Andy Taylor

This CX rider doesn’t reach the podiums of national series races; he doesn’t even reach the podiums of the local west midlands cyclocross league. But then racing cyclocross (or any bike sport for that matter) isn’t about winning races, it’s about being part of something and putting the effort in throughout the racing season.

What this man lacks in skills, power and finesse he more than makes up for in effort and enthusiasm (as much as a Scotsman can be called ‘enthusiastic’ about anything). Having followed a BC training programme this season and attending week in week out to all league races, he is a CX stalwart and deserves recognition for his efforts.

Road Rider of the Year – Suzanne Collinson

Suzanne has developed tremendously as a rider this year. Having started as a beginner last year, she has not only built her own skills and fitness, but has been tremendously supportive of the beginners and C rides. She has been passionate in encouraging other lady riders to come out and ride and get involved. She has also instigated the Tuesday night improvers road ride. She is a real advocate for women’s road riding.

MTB Rider of the Year – Sophie David

She's mountain biked all over the world, competed at the highest levels and is the 2016 women's SingleSpeed mountain bike national champion in both the UK and France. She's an inspiration to all riders, even talks about tyres - like a true mountain biker - and this year will be trying her hand at #Enduro at the 'Ard Rock in August.

TT Rider of the Year – Andy Cooke

Andy started TTs this year and has been the fastest rider on a standard road bike. As he learned the courses, his performance has improved week on week. He has also stepped up to be a timekeeper. Without timekeepers the championship would have been impossible. In a discipline that is an individual challenge he has been a true team player.

Most Improved Rider – Ian McLaughlin

You know someone is committed to improving their cycling when they choose 'vodka and cranberry juice' over beer when they're down the pub. 

Iain's average commuting speeds make for depressing reading too.

There's also rumour he may be now combining a bike ride with a jog and a couple of lengths of the swimming pool too!

He’s had a successful triathlon series this year and is now going to be representing Great Britain in the 2017 European Sprint Duathlon Championships in Spain in April. He’s been clocking up some impressive results in training for it including 2nd in the Sherwood Pines off road duathlon and 5th in the Robin Hood off road duathlon.

He’s now declining mountain biking trips to avoid the risk of injury before a race (mountain biking may involve going round corners of course!). All of this seals the deal regards him winning this award.

Rider of the Year – Jen Doyle

Jen joined the club a couple of years ago. She has a competitive background having represented Great Britain in Women's Quadruple Sculls at the Commonwealth Games in 2002 where she won a silver medal. 

Jen’s competitive nature is clear: from her first rides with the club where she’d prefer to try the group above on a Sunday bash rather than playing it safe. This year she's gained a coach and grown as a cyclist including having tackled three days on the Haute Route across the Pyrenees. 

It's one thing to ride competitively on the road on a Tuesday night bash, or pushing your limits in a TT, but it takes a certain kind of masochist to target the hill climb season. But target she did, and duly travelled around the country competing and qualifying for the National Hillclimb Championship, ascending Bank Road in Matlock at the end of October. 

She's an inspirational woman, cyclist and hill climber, she's also your club’s rider of the year.

Spirit of RLSCC – Steve Jefferies 

He has been formally recognised in the club for his outstanding efforts in raising money for charity with this ride.....and more recently with the Rawlinson pre-ride.  These are inclusive events, for a great cause in the local area, align with the club as we are keen to support each year, and is something that Steve 'just gets on with' without people necessarily seeing the huge amount of work he puts in.

Riders’ Rider – Martin Shepherd

Martin has tried valiantly to organise the Saturday B ride and retain the ethos which made it so popular. The Saturday B ride wouldn’t happen without him – come rain, snow, ice or shine!


Alternative Awards

'I thought you were fast / hard core' Strava Knows The Truth Award  – Jason McNulty

Liking a bit of cAnal Award – Darryl Timms

Navigational Excellence Award – All the B ride navigators

Dirty Boy (or Girl) Award – Ed Yarrow

Hippopotamus Award For Gloop-Ridden Rides – Chris Slevin

Most Inappropriate Route Award – Angie Ridgewell

Bling-est Bling-er Award – Mike Freeman

Best Dressed Award - Sophie David

‘Can I Fix It?’ Award – Andy Smith

‘Does My Crash Look Big In This?’ Award For Things That Happened On Film – Chris Slevin

Synchronised Stacking It Award - Special Award for 'Tandem' Crashes - Martin and Michelle Shepherd

Right Angle Award for Service Towards Corners - Iain McLaughlin

Superhero Award for Most Epic Ride – Rich Wardle

First Responder Award for Medical Services - Richard Bedford

RLSCC Legend Award – Bill Calvert


A massive thank you for all the efforts of the RLSCC committee to help make it happen, Bombay for the excellent cuisine, and St Patrick’s Irish Club for hosting the event.

Click here to return to latest news


Learn more about the RLSCC Join the club, get all the info Get on your bike and ride

Special Events / Rides

Join us on some great club rides and days out

Sorry no new events at the mo.. for now, check out our regular club rides and routes here